A Tiny Bit More Amazed

A few days ago, I had the idea to be amazed. All the time, as much as possible with everything I saw, heard, experienced.

And for the past few days, I’ve been…well, amazed.

In case you wonder what I mean…I had the idea to take an extra second and look deeper, listen harder. To look between and behind the lines. To listen for the message behind the message. You might not do this, but too often I get caught up in the day to day business of my day to day business and too easily miss the amazing things unfolding all around me.

The excitement in my daughter’s eyes when I tell her yes, I’d love to play a game together.

The few moments with my stepson where we kicked around a few ideas for his bass part and a bass solo for his next middle school jazz band concert.

The new-found confidence I hear in my oldest daughter’s voice as she talks with me about symbolism in classic literature.

Last week, I might have missed those special little amazing moments. I might have just enjoyed the experiences, enjoyed and even savored the moments as they unfolded.

But today, I’m ecstatic to say…I’m learning that pausing long enough to experience the utter amazement of each miraculous moment unfolding around me…that is one of my life’s greatest new-found treasures.

2 comments

I'd love for you to share your thoughts!

