A Tiny Bit More Learning

I’ve always loved to learn new things and I’ve always actively sought new learning opportunities and new avenues for self-educating. I used to think I was some sort of freak for being this way until I read Louis L’Amour’s fascinating book Education of a Wandering Man. Even back in high school when I read it, it gave me a pat on the back for being a self-educator. And it gave me the permission to continue my own education in very non-traditional ways (for example: trial and error, observation and deduction, active listening to the people around me).

Lately, I’ve been on a learning “binge” of sorts. Studying in preparation of a Network+ certification exam…continuing education study for my Security+ certification…steady reading of the Bible…reading Angels & Demons and studying some of the things mentioned in there…finding online courses and signing up for those (for example, through Coursera.org)…I’ve been doing these things like crazy since my 44th birthday.

And I’ve been finding a handful of incredibly well-written and thought-provoking blogs and learning from them. For example: Heal Now and Forever, Messy Quest, ZenHabits, Becoming Minimalist, Be More with Less, and The Change Blog are sites I check every day. If they haven’t posted something brand new on a particular day, I can guarantee something in the archives is well worth a read.

Now, I’d also like to mention an area that’s new for me in terms of my learning. It involves taking a look at the beliefs I hold and figuring out how I came to hold those beliefs and whether or not those beliefs still serve me. For example, until recently, I believed I was too shy to be friendly. How I developed that belief is a little too personal to share with the entire world. But, when I looked at it under a mental microscope, I realized this belief doesn’t serve me well. So, I’m developing a whole new belief about myself. Sure, I’m an introvert, but I’m very friendly and LOVE meeting new people and learning about them and their stories.

How about you? What are some of the ways you learn in everyday life? What are some things you’ve learned about yourself recently? How did you do it?

I'd love for you to share your thoughts!

