A Tiny Bit of Momentum

I think I might have accidentally stumbled onto a whole new goal-achieving technique Wednesday and today and I’d like to share it. Maybe it will help you.

At my job, we had to work with our managers to set a number of “objectives” for ourselves, showing how we would contribute to the company’s objectives in four major areas, with a deadline of June 30, 2013. When it was all put together, I have 21 objectives to meet by the deadline. Some are fairly simply and require little more than just continuing to do my job like I normally do, but with a little more focus on a specific outcome or cost savings, etc.

And some of my objectives are VERY complex and involved and will require proactive attention, woven around all my other daily activities. So, with that in mind, I’ve been trying to come up with some sort of approach to taking care of my objectives…scheduling them, creating a to-do list, setting “Top 3” or “Sacred 6” lists. To this point, I still found ways to procrastinate on things with any of those approaches.

But Wednesday’s stumble into success may have been the key to the whole thing for me. And maybe it will work for you too.

I keep a word processor document with “up to the minute” status of what I’ve done for each of 21 objectives, because the bosses have a requirement to be able to see our status at any time. Now, I my status file open and sitting in the background, just waiting for me to update it when I finished the task I was on.

So, I brought the document up and looked at the first objective as written, glanced at the status of what’s been accomplished already, and then asked myself “Is there something I can do right now to move this forward?” If the answer is “yes, I could _____ ” then I immediately do that thing. If the answer is no, I move on to the next objective and try it again.

On just Wednesday and Thursday, I accomplished more, on several objectives, than I had in the previous week altogether.

Seems like a simple process. I wonder if you’ve done something similar. If you have, how did it work for you? Share!

I'd love for you to share your thoughts!

