A Tiny Bit More Compassionate

I’ve always thought I was a compassionate guy. I give to charity work, I actually do charity work, I talk to other people about helping with charity work, when I see someone in a bad situation I want to help and often do. I’ve always taught my kids the difference between sympathy and empathy. And if I do say so myself, I was always pretty good at those things, especially if it involved writing a check and sending it somewhere to help a large group of needy people.

But I haven’t always been very good at one-to-one compassion. I haven’t been very good at noticing when someone needs a little touch of human compassion. Even when it’s just as simple as quietly listening when someone needs to know they are being heard. I just haven’t been a very compassionate guy.

Today, that changes though. I got a nice gentle firsthand look at how easy it can be, and how rewarding it can be, to just put myself in the other guy’s shoes for a little and be compassionate.

One of the musicians I’m working with this weekend walked over to me during a break and told me he noticed I seemed to be a little more quiet and distracted and distant than normal. And then he offered to pray with me. So simple, but SO profound in the moment. Once I got over the initial “shock” we prayed together and my heavy heart was a little lighter. And looking back on it, here’s what I learned from this simple bit of compassion.

  • He paid attention to the people around him.
  • He paid attention to my body language and the message it was sending.
  • He made it a point to humbly and gently approach me.
  • He offered to help in whatever way he could right then and there.

Frankly, I’ve never been very good at any of the things I listed right above. But starting today, I choose to make it better. I choose to be a tiny bit more compassionate.

And who knows…maybe someday I’ll be the guy someone is writing about, teaching about being compassionate by simply BEING compassionate. Thanks Joel!

 

I'd love for you to share your thoughts!

