A Tiny Bit of Shock & Awe

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been riding the fence about something in my life, something with major implications for me starting immediately and carrying through for probably the rest of my life.

And today, a friend who cares about me much more than I deserve had the courage to push me off the fence.

At first there was a mindblowing shock as the decision I never wanted to make was made for me. And I’ll admit that some of the shock still hasn’t worn off yet.

But as it does wear off, what emerges is a feeling of awe. Awe for my friend’s incredible courage. Awe for the way the future could play out. Awe that someone cared so much for me as to “take a bullet” for me (figuratively, of course).

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to thank my friend enough.

So, let me ask you. What’s a time in your life where you had a moment of absolute shock? How did you deal with it? Did you find a way to lessen the shock and speed up the awe? Please share.

I'd love for you to share your thoughts!

